Walking on Water

One of the odd things is that I often really don’t realize that a graphic image for the spiritual life is Peter’s attempting to walk on water:  Mt 14: 28-31: Peter said to him in reply, “Lord, if it is you, command me to come to you on the water.” He said, “Come.” Peter got out of the boat and began to walk on the water toward Jesus. But when he saw how [strong] the wind was he became frightened; and, beginning to sink, he cried out, “Lord, save me!” Immediately Jesus stretched out his hand and caught him, and said to him, “O you of little faith, why did you doubt?”  I have been called to a task, the vision and reality of the truth enflame my mind and heart, I started out…and then realized that I am entirely relying on Jesus to make this happen, I have not a clue what’s beyond the next step, whether it will be successful in turning people to Christ, whether I will be able to finish it or not…the immensity of the project is overwhelming…wind and waves impinge on my consciousness….and then I realize that none of these questions are relevant, none of them make the slightest bit of difference in God’s scheme of things.  God has the whole thing worked out; mine portion is just a tiny-winny smidgen of His Grand Plan…and my job is not to worry about whether I am up to the task, whether I finish, what happens next but to just “fill the unforgiving minute with sixty seconds’ worth of distance run” in hearing, trusting and following His Will…that is the task at hand.  O I of little faith, that’s why sometimes I doubt…

Leave a Reply

