I want a refund

“O foolish ones, and slow of heart to believe all that the prophets have spoken! Was it not necessary that the Christ should suffer these things and enter into his glory?” Lk 24:25-26

God’s ways are not our ways, nor are God’s thoughts our thoughts. Which of us, in designing a Christ, would have him “suffer these things and enter into his glory?” We’re right there with the Apostles: “Is it now that you are going to restore the kingdom of Israel?” None of this arrest, interrogation, whipping, bullying, condemnation, carrying of the cross, crucifixion and death….all extraneous to our concept, our vision, our plan. This is, perhaps, why we are the “foolish ones…slow of heart to believe all that the prophets have spoken.” Didn’t they mean what they said as hyperbole, exaggeration, visionary unrealities? You mean they really meant it…or if they didn’t know exactly what they wrote, the Spirit really meant it, foresaw it, and the Trinity preplanned it from all eternity. It’s that latter, that “preplanned from all eternity” that catches you off guard, brings you up short, makes you wonder… what kind of a God is God? Where is the warm, gentle, fuzzy God I know and love? Where did this God come from? I didn’t bargain for this type of God! I demand a refund!

“I am who I am. I can be no other. You can picture me anyway you want…but I do not change. I am goodness, I am love. This Christ is goodness, this Christ is love. I want only your greatest happiness and that of the whole world, of every man, woman and child that ever lived, are living or will live. That is why Christ suffered these things…for you, and you, and you. He had no need of suffering for Himself, for Me…He did it for you…so that you would know the Way, the Truth and the Life. So that you would know that all I want, all I ever wanted, is your happiness. What I can’t seem to get you to understand is that your happiness is not achieved by doing what you want but in doing what I want you to do…in being the best, the holiest, the most wonderful person you can be with my help. That’s what the prophets were saying, that’s what I have been saying all along. Come, come, come. Follow my Son…and you will find eternal life, eternal happiness, you will find Me.” Amen. Alleluia!!!

Leave a Reply

