Get ahead of that curve?

6/23/13
And day by day, attending the temple together and breaking bread in their homes, they received their food with glad and generous hearts, praising God and having favor with all the people.
Day by day, day in and day out…they persevered over time. And progressed. They labored, they endured.  Help me to realize that God should not “be grateful to that servant because he did what was commanded? So should it be with you. When you have done all you have been commanded, say, ‘We are unprofitable servants; we have done what we were obliged to do.’” The question, can we ever get ahead of that curve…no, and the reason is simple. In comparison with all that God has done for me, my service is not only negligible but unworthy of even mentioning. Second, when compared with my sins and offenses, it barely touches the surface…dust on the scales only. And third, I am humus, a creature, I was made to praise, reverence and serve God…this is my purpose in life and that is all-encompassing; in my delusion, I imagine that there is a scales, there is a tit-for-tat, an exchange of services. That is a sinful man’s lens, my lens of pride and false independence, not the reality which comes into focus for the humble, the contrite, the forgotten and ignored, the remnant…they, note I struggle to include myself among them, usually unsuccessfully, realize their place in the divine universe, the cosmos; they are humble and accept their role not only graciously but with thanksgiving, gratitude, joy and exuberance, with delight and eagerness, as an honor and a privilege. I pray to God for this attitude, desire this attitude, long for this attitude in my more realistic and rational moments. Bending my back to this cross, this juncture of earth and heaven, this dias upon which we all must abide, is impossible for me alone. Those who heard this said, “Then who can be saved?” And he said, “What is impossible for human beings is possible for God.” Amen. Alleluia!!!

Leave a Reply

